days until next election.

Perry County Board of Commissioners

The County Board of Commissioners is the legislative branch of county government.

The County Board deals with a variety of issues relating to the management of the County government at its meetings. Some of these include duties include:

• Consideration of ordinances and resolutions.

• Adoption of an annual operating budget and tax levy.

• Approval of claims (bills) from all County departments.

• Awarding of contracts.

• Negotiation and approval of labor contracts.

• Oversight of special projects like economic development, transportation and general county services.

• Appointment of non-elected department heads and numerous members to boards and commissions.

• Many other duties relating to the day-to-day operations of the County.

Organization of the Board

Each year, the Commissioners elect a Chairman from their ranks. Traditionally, the Chairman is the senior-most Commissioner from the Board’s majority political party. The Chairman presides at meetings, executes documents on behalf of the County, and makes appointments to boards and commissions, subject to the advice and consent of the Board as a whole. The County Clerk is the Clerk of the County Board, and the State’s Attorney is the County Board’s legal advisor.

County Board Meetings

The Perry County Board of Commissioners meets six times each quarter or 24 times per year. Regular meeting dates are usually the first and third Thursdays of the month at 2 p.m. Special meetings may be held from time-to-time with at least 48 hours’ advance notice. Meetings are held at the County Board Room on the lower level of the Perry County Government Building. Meetings are open to the public and public comment is a part of the agenda at each regular meeting.

About the Commission Form of Government

Perry County is one of 17 Illinois counties which operates under the Commission form of government. Under the Commission form, the County is governed by a three-person Board of Commissioners. Commissioners are elected at-large to six-year terms. One Commissioner is elected at each General Election in November of even-numbered years.

Records of the Board

By statute, the County Clerk is the Clerk of the County Board and keeps all records pertaining to official Board action. The Clerk attests all documents acted upon by the Board and prepares the minutes, or written record of each meeting’s actions, for approval. Use the links to access meeting agendas and the minutes of past meetings.